Category Historic

The Khajuraho Group of Monuments is a group of Hindu temples and Jain temples in Chhatarpur district, Madhya Pradesh, India, about 175 kilometres (109 mi) southeast of Jhansi. They are a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The temples are famous for their nagara-style architectural symbolism and their erotic sculptures.

Most Khajuraho temples were built between 950 and 1050 by the Chandela dynasty. Historical records note that the Khajuraho temple site had 85 temples by the 12th century, spread over 20 square kilometers Of these, only about 25 temples have survived, spread over six square kilometers. Of the surviving temples, the Kandariya Mahadeva Temple is decorated with a profusion of sculptures with intricate details, symbolism and expressiveness of ancient Indian art.

The Khajuraho group of temples were built together but were dedicated to two religions, Hinduism and Jainism, suggesting a tradition of acceptance and respect for diverse religious views among Hindus and Jains in the region.

Photo Gallery

  • Khajuraho dance festival
  • Khajuraho dance festival
  • khajuraho-dance Festival

How to Reach:

By Air

Khajuraho has an airport (IATA Code: HJR / HJR) which provides services to Delhi, Agra, Varanasi and Mumbai.

By Train

Khajuraho Temple is connected to the railway through Khajuraho Railway Station and Chhatarpur Railway Station, which is 45 km. From Khajuraho It is well connected to Delhi, Udaipur, Jhansi.

By Road

The temples are around 50km from its district centre chhatarpur. It is well connected with roads from various cities of india like delhi, bhopal. National highway 86 attaches it from capitol of the state Bhopal.